April 2nd: Weekend Mellowness


I really don’t have much to tell you but we did have glorious weekend with awesome weather, and seeing old friends who visited us from Denver, where both Will and Caroline were born.

Jon’s dad brought tickets over for the musical Grease at the Lesher Center in Walnut Creek. It was regional theater and of course no one can outdo Olivia Newton John, especially when it comes down to a song like Hopelessly Devoted, so we had promised each other to bail at the intermission, were it not for the coincidence that we were seated next to people we knew (and hadn’t seen for in ages), so we felt too embarrassed to leave and suffered through the rest of the show.

Well… I love it when life offers surprises because right after the intermission, the real star of the show came striding down center stage with a rendition of Beauty School Dropout which was so good that it sent chills down my spine: think Jennifer Hudson with a touch of Aretha Franklin. Jon, who had had a stressful end of the first quarter and hadn’t slept much the night before, was slumped in his seat but when this woman opened her mouth, he sat up, and truly, the whole audience went wild.  Wow. I looked in the program and this woman is not a professional artist but has a day job and all I can say is that I hope she gets discovered. When the time came for the all-white cast to take their final bow, she made a momentary entrance and, again, the audience clapped harder than it did for the two leads and that was revealing and touching at the same time.

And now it’s Sunday again. And I need to get my ass in gear to start thinking about dinner.

I planned out the rest of my novel and have 96 more pages to go for a first draft to be finished. If you want to be part of the Challenge (see my previous blog entry) let me know.

Good luck with your Monday. Bleh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

