March 7th: Sad!


I worked half a day in the conflict & abuse queue today and I have flagged this before but hate speech is up, folks.

Where formerly I used to come across discrimination/racial profiling cases maybe twice a day, today I was dealing with them almost constantly. Quite frankly, I’ve never seen this much anti-immigrant fervor and maliciousness. I was especially struck by the willingness of people to turn in their neighbors or make lame jokes to the tune of: “just announce ICE is on its way in a Hispanic crowd.”

The whole idea that people are being rounded up pro-actively is totalitarian evil of Hitlerite proportions and I’ve said it before, and I will say it again: this is not the America that received me with open arms when I came here as an immigrant.

I’m telling you this because there are plenty of people who are in denial, or people who think reports of hate speech are hyped up/cooked up by the corporate elitist media, but, at my work, I get to see a true slice of what’s happening in US neighborhoods and it scares the shit out of me.

One more thing: 99% of the time this is stuff white people are saying… when I read such garbage, I’m ashamed to be white and privileged. Sad to say, the only black man in Trump’s cabinet, Dr. Carson, referred to slaves as immigrants the other day, so if you have folks in power, like POTUS, who are revising/falsifying history as we know it, at a time when citizens can’t even distinguish between fact and fiction anymore, we’re on a very slippery slope.

Jon texted me that he was feeling sick and after doing about 40 conflict cases or so, I decided I’d had my fill of hatred for the day and decided to head home with Jon and do some of my other work. Jon spiraled down into a stomach flu type of thing, so now I hope and pray that I won’t get the pleasure of riding the porcelain bus tonight.

I want to end on a high note and tell you about the picture that Will sent us from Colombia: more jungle, infinity pool and view of the Andes mountains. Caroline had made a family group for us in What’s App with the name ANAL. In the text, I asked to have the name of the group changed. I’m including the text here, so you can see the new name:

IMG_2497

Does this mean you can’t win?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

